Doing some sinning won't hurt you, baby

Okay so I just want opinions on this, because I have a great idea and hopefully people will like it. I'm planning on writing a longer story in english and this is the first part. I just want response - I'll have to wait to continue this anyway, because I need to finish up this part of Billie (which is soon) and stuff, so yeah. Just please tell me what you think about it, if it sounds interesting etcetcetc. Thank you!
 

The seven deadly sins are bullshit. Everybody still here? Anybody convert to Scientology because I let fly that little nugget of reality? No? Then we may continue.”

- Corey Taylor

 

I never know what to say about myself. I mean, I must be the most uninteresting person in the whole world. Seriously. Nothing ever happens to me. Like, I can really just tell you my story and you'd fall asleep.

My life wasn't bad, at all. I lived in a nice house with my mother, younger twin brothers and Steven, mom's husband. There's not even an interesting story how my mom and dad broke up – they just stopped loving each other and all I know about him now is that he lives in another country and send money to mom for me and my siblings. Really, that's all. I wasn't that fond of Steven though, who was extremely into God and Jesus and religious stuff like that. He weren't too fond of me either, liked to tell me what to do and told me my feelings were wrong. So apart from the never ending feud with Steven and me, our family was perfect. The way they are in books, you know?

But me? What about me? I didn't feel like I belonged anywhere. I didn't belong in school, not even with my good grades and many friends and all the boys hanging around me. I didn't belong at home either, because I knew I were kind of different from everyone else there. Maybe that's why Steven never liked me, or if he was just somewhat disturbed. Maybe there was just something about me that screamed “Hate me! Hate me!” to him. I don't know, really.

That was my life before I met Mitch. Mitch with his electric green eyes and tattoos and crooked smile. After that, things became a lot more... interesting.

 

How could I be so stupid?

I had been home at Molly's and forgotten about the time. Now I had to walk home in the dark and knowing Steven would be nagging about my late arrival for like, ever. And my earphones broke that same day, of course.

It wasn't like me and Molly had done anything special in particular, and that's what bothered me the most. I could have said mom wanted me home for dinner have left a lot earlier. Now I had to put up with hearing how irresponsible and anything that came up in Steven's mind when he thought of me for longer than I would've want. I mean, even a minute is too much – he would probably go on whilst I made myself something to eat and slammed the door to my bedroom in his face, and then I would hear his raised voice as he complained to mom about me. Of course she wouldn't stand up for me – she would just agree with him.

God no, I don't want to.

I decided to walk through the park, as it was light there and was a short cut home. The darkness, the shadows, that lurked everywhere freaked me out, which was one of the reasons I kept calling myself stupid over and over in my head. I tried to cheer myself up with the thought that it's only Tuesday so the park won't be full or drunk people, and it would be just a little bit too early for them anyway.

I didn't see that someone lied on his back on a bench, and that's why I got so startled when I heard a voice behind me. “Do you like stars?”

I turned around and saw a fairly young man (probably around his twenties) with dark hair lying underneath a lamppost on a bench. His eyes were closed, as far as I could see, and a small smile played in the corner of his mouth. He wore black skinny jeans, black converse and a leather jacket. I just stood there and watched him, wondering if he had been talking to me or having a conversation with himself.

“...are you still there?”

“Yeah...”
“Hi.” He sat up and opened his eyes, and I had to catch my breath. They were extraordinarily green, almost electric. It felt as if they were piercing right through me.

If the kind of soft light from a lamppost makes them this... strong, wonder what they would be like if I was closer or in the dark or in an even stronger light...

No. Don't think about that. Don't walk up to him. Just leave, Laura. Leave.

“So... what do you say? Do you like stars?”
“I don't know. I guess so.”
“You guess...? Haven't you seen the stars at all?”
“Of course I have.”
“No you haven't. Take a look at them right now, and tell me they aren't the most beautiful thing in the whole world.”

I have no idea why I actually did it. I turned my face to the sky and saw the sparkling point of light on a black background. At first I thought that there was nothing special about them, but then I noticed they were somewhat magical, the way they winked down to us.

“So?”
“They're beautiful.”
“I know. I'm Mitch, by the way. What's your name?”
“...why would I tell you that?”
“Suit yourself”, he said and fell down to his back again, crossed his arms behind his neck. The light shirt he wore underneath the jacket had slid up on his stomach a bit, showing off some parts of tattoos. He noticed my gaze on his stomach and pulled up the shirt even more. “Sexy, right?”
“...you're drunk, aren't you?”
He started to giggle and nod once, smiled. “I'm drunk as a... fish.”
“And how do you know fishes are drunk?”
“Because... because... they're under water. They drink all the time.” He rolled his eyes like it was the most obvious thing in the whole world, but I didn't get it. You couldn't get drunk on water, right? “Anyway. If you don't wanna tell me your name Imma have to guess who you are. You're that kind of girl who goes to a fancy private school and give boys blowjobs at the public bathroom, right?”

Euw. “No.”
“Oh. I beg your pardon, then.”

“Look, I'm leaving now. Okay. Bye.”
“No, don't go!” He sat up again and just looked at me with an expression of a sad puppy. His eyes were still hauntingly beautiful. “Please? I'm sorry, okay? I'm drunk and I don't know you and I shouldn't have said that.”
“No, it's not you.” Even though you kinda freak me out because I don't know you at all. “I just have to head home.”
“One last question! Do you believe in the seven deadly sins?”

“...what?”
“The seven deadly sins. Do you believe in them?”
“I don't know.”
“But you know what they are, right? Vanity, lust, sloth, envy, greed, glutton and wrath?”

“I know what they are, my stepdad's Christian.”
“Oh, hardcore of soft?”
“...hardcore, I guess you could say.”
“Your family dinners must be very funny.”
“They're all very delightful.”
He laughed at the sarcasm in my voice. “So you don't really believe in any of that shit?”
“Well, I don't know. I don't know much of anything else.”

“You can't believe in nothing, sweetheart. Everyone believes in something, whether it's Scientology, a religion or some hippie-shit about karma.”
“Aren't karma in one of the religions?”
“...whatever; you get my point. So, what do you believe in?”

I went silent for a moment. “The stars”, I said and turned around, walking away.

“But that's not what I meant! C'mon, just tell me!”

“Nope. Bye.”

 

As expected Steven was nagging on me and my irresponsibility. The chat with Mitch had taken about half an hour (it felt kind of unexpected – I'd guessed that it took fifteen minutes or so but no, I'd been wrong) so I wasn't home until around ten, which made things even worse.

Well, it's not my fault an young drunk started to talk about stars and the seven sins.

When his voice finally disappeared and I was alone, I started to think about what Mitch had been talking about. Did I even believe in anything? I had said stars, but how do you believe in stars?

I guess it's possible, but I don't know if I do.

But as much as I tried to figure out a reason, I knew that I would never meet him again. I wouldn't have to explain myself with some clever words about my beliefs. He would never ask again.

Oh, how wrong I was.


Kommentarer
Postat av: Lici

Jättebra! :) några grammatiska fel, men annars så var det super!

Svar: Tack! :D (also vad för slags grammatiska fel? ska läsa igenom texten igen och sånt ehe xD) (eller om du upptäcker fler grammatiska fel när jag orkar fortsätta på dem här, alltså att de återkommer hela tiden, can you tell me then? C:)
Frida (evil mastermind)

2013-04-14 @ 17:42:02
URL: http://bubblebath.blogg.se
Postat av: Moa

Honest opinion: Det låter som början på en riktig, publicerad bok. Honestly. Den är speciell och quirky och JAG VILL VETA VAD DÖDSSYNDERNA HAR MED ALLT ATT GÖRA. Plus att jag gillade Mitch och Laura mer eller mindre direkt. Jag tror definitivt att det kan bli något väldigt speciellt och awesome av det här c:

Svar: ERMAHGERD TACK ih <3333
Frida (evil mastermind)

2013-04-15 @ 09:33:28
URL: http://www.moixa.blogg.se
Postat av: Alicia

Sv: Typ smågrejer, som ibland skrev du "an" istället för "a" och lite sånt, men inget major :)

Svar: Okej, tack så mycket! C:
Frida (evil mastermind)

2013-04-15 @ 19:54:54
URL: http://bubblebath.blogg.se
Postat av: Bell

Haha “drunk as a fish” xD Jag gillar dina liknelser c: Det låter som en spännande början :3

Svar: Haha, tack så mycket xD
Frida (evil mastermind)

2013-04-21 @ 16:25:48

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0